Posted by: realifemermaid | January 20, 2012

Hello world!

I have been addicted to the water ever since I was a toddler and pulled myself over to the edge of the community pool. Convinced I could already swim, I waddled in to the warm water and plopped right to the bottom like a rock. I guess I couldn’t exactly swim yet.

The only way my mom could get me to stop crying as an infant was to toss me into the bath. Water is where I am most comfortable, my natural environment.

I grew up on the Atlantic coast of Maryland. We went to the beach or the pool everyday, staying in the water the whole time. By the time I was 4, I had no trouble swimming, and caught waves on my little pink boogie board that my dad got me. He called me a little surfer girl and sang the beach boys song to me.

I swam competitively as an age grouper, high schooler, and college. I guess now I’m a swammer. I still like to do open water races, but I’m finding my way into rivers and springs and oceans and bays, leaving the predictable chlorinated 6 lanes and 25 yards behind me.

I’m spending more time surfing, and I got certified to scuba dive in the fall. These are both pretty new to me, and having new frontiers in a world that is so comforting to me already is exciting.

I started this blog to document my surfing and scuba and swimming experiences, because they have been pretty exciting. This weekend I’m going scuba diving with manatees, and next weekend I’m picking up a new board that is made just for me; perfect for the Florida waves.

I always have random reflections about what surfing or scuba teaches you about life that I like to write about. And cool pictures.

In short, aquatic life for animals or people in Florida is pretty awesome.

20120120-130748.jpg

Responses

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

